Premiere: Heatwave & Akinsa – False Awakenings

Romanian artist Heatwave teams up with Akinsa on the latest release for AGN7 Audio, delivering a dark, tribal workout powered by slow/fast halftime percussion and throbbing sub weight. Sick tune! Look for this one and two Heatwave / Dreadmaul collabs dropping April 19th at digital stores…

Continue reading

Premiere: Ahmad & Akinsa – Monolith

Vykhod Sily return with their third release and we’re hyped to have the premiere of Monolith! Written by two of the dark/minimal scene’s best producers, this one blends militant tribal drum rhythms with bleak atmospheres for a driving, dystopian vibe. Look for the release coming September 1st exclusively to Patreon subscribers.

Continue reading

Artist Collective LP [Conspired Within]

US imprint Conspired Within Music are back with a big release this month in the form of the Artist Collective LP. Featuring tracks from many of the best names in the dark halftime game, the LP is a pretty formidable statement of intent from a group of producers who share a passion for gritty, minimal beats and bleak soundscapes.

Tracks range from militant percussive steppers courtesy of Epilleptech, through to techno infused grinders like Tobe:n’s Shinigami. There’s a few seriously hefty tracks in the pack too, such as standout number Burning from Out of Fuel & Criba – the bassline on this one will shake your foundations! Elsewhere the LP contains thoughtful and interesting new beats from the likes of Kit Curse, Medika, Akinsa and label boss Conspired Within.

We could waffle on further about the tracks on here but you’re far better off listening for yourself; rest assured you’ll find a great selection of music bound together by an emphasis on percussive precision and atmosphere. One for the heads that know…check it out and hit up the label Bandcamp store to pre-order now on CD or digital; the LP drops there Feb 9th with all other stores following on the 16th.

Ahmad – X EP [Turbine Music]

If you’re looking for dark, threatening halftime beats then this one should make you feel warm and fuzzy in all the right places (or dark and threatened maybe, we’re not too certain on that one). Turbine Music’s latest comes from German producer Acid Lab’s Ahmad alias and it doesn’t get much grubbier than this!

As usual with the darker and less up front styles, the emphasis is on consistency and groove, with spooky pads, throbbing bass and crisp, echoing percussion fills characterising the tracks on the EP. A wide array of collaborators grace the different tracks but they maintain a nice consistency despite this. Fans of the likes of AMIT, None Decay and Red Army will definitely enjoy this! Check out the clips below and look for the EP at all good digital stores from September 4th.

Future Tense EP [Turbine Music]

Dust Audio sublabel Turbine returns with a menacing selection on their latest Various Artists EP, Future Tense. Acid Lab leads the charge with creepy atmospherics on the intro dropping into old school break chops and reese bass. Love the tension on this one! Slider and Expose keep it grimey on the appropriately titled The Wrath…definitely some angst in the mix here.

Out into the back end of the EP we’re treated to sparse, militant halfstep from Akinsa and industrial tinged business from Antagonist. Deep and dark all the way. Check out the clips below and grab this one from your favourite digital store now!