Premiere: Joakuim – Ocean Of Rhodes

Deep halftime vibrations from Joakuim on today’s premiere, taken from his new LP Flow for Sable Noir Recordings! Proper hypnotic textures on this one…definitely a track to get lost in. Watch out for the album coming on vinyl/CD/digital from June 4th.

Continue reading

Premiere: Joakuim – Unit E

Anyone with half an eye on the French scene should have noticed the annual French Plates compilation LPs playing host to some serious heat from that corner of the world, and their latest selection is just round the corner! Today’s premiere from the 2019 album comes from Joakuim, who delivers an insistent liquid groove built on warm bass, classic breaks and swirling atmospherics. Wicked stuff; look for the LP coming March 1st via the DNB France Bandcamp page.

Continue reading

Premiere: Joakuim – L’automne

Another fresh premiere for you today from new imprint Sable Noir Recordings! Joakuim brings his deep, rolling D&B stylings to the label next month on the Des Fleurs LP, and we’ve got the scoop on L’automne. Crisp rolling breaks, simple sub, wistful piano and tons of atmosphere. One for the heads…check it out and look for the album dropping from Jan 13th on vinyl and digital.

Continue reading

All Cities Vol. 2 [Vandal Ltd]

Vandal bring us the 3rd release on their “Ltd” imprint with a varied selection of D&B from four up and coming production outfits. Soul:motion delivers deep liquid vibrations and minimal melancholy on Reminisce, while Joakuim heads for gritty roller territory with ominous pads, rolling beats and some tasty but not overplayed bass growl.

Over in the back half of the EP Tim Reaper explores the old school sound with classic breaks and IDM-esque melodies layered with a big slab of sub bass. Last up, Roygreen and Protone veer off into experimental territory with Laser Cats, a mellow tune with an unusual percussive groove that brings to mind the Autonomic sound, though with a touch of the jazz that we’re used to from the duo.

Check out the clips below and look for this at your favourite digital outlet from July 7th.

Intrigue 11 [Intrigue Music]

Bristol-based label and club night Intrigue Music celebrate 11 years in the game with a tidy selection of tracks from some of the most well respected names in the game. Highlights come from Break, who remixes The Insiders’ Wonder Why with typical flair, Random Movement who dishes up a smooth jazzy refix of The Insiders’ The Rhythm and Quadrant, Kid Hops & Iris who deliver a masterclass in rolling tech on Don’t Call It Anything.

Elsewhere the release features a selection of musical yet dancefloor friendly cuts from the likes of Survival, RoyGreen and Protone, Joakuim and Eveson. Check out all the tracks below and watch out for the release dropping from Feb 24th.