Black Sun Empire – Driving Insane Remixes [Blackout]

Black Sun Empire’s early output holds a very special place for a lot of D&B heads of a certain age, an exciting time when the relatively nascent neurofunk style was developing in interesting new directions, and the Dutch trio’s trance-infused take on the sound captured imaginations and dancefloors alike. Nearly twenty years on from the release of their debut Driving Insane LP they announced a remix contest, allowing producers the chance to provide fresh takes on these yesteryear classics with the stems to no less than five tracks from the album. But would these new remixes do the originals justice?

Thankfully the competition inspired some superb work and the resulting remix EP provides varied and entirely worthy adaptations of the source material. Myselor’s contest-winning take on Breach opens the EP, retaining the recognisable twin-leads of the original but imbuing them with additional melodic elements that utterly change the vibe of the track. Brooding and atmospheric is replaced by uplifting and heroic, elevating the feeling to truly epic levels.

Russian scene stalwart EastColors delivers a respectful take on title track Driving Insane, keeping the flavour intact while providing a modern switch on the drums and bassline elements with a touch of foghorn for good measure. Australian duo V O E serve up the heaviest dancefloor number with a mashup of Don’t You and Stasis, landing the punches with their aggressive modern neuro sound.

Rounding out the EP, Waeys dives deep into hypnotic territory with unusual rhythms and driving drums on his experimental remix of Stasis. Finally Rillium gives us a short and sweet 3-minute take on Arrakis which crescendos into intricate drumwork and pulsing synths, fading as quickly as they rise.

Varied and exciting reworks from all concerned; the Driving Insane Remixes EP is out now at Beatport and available to stream on the usual platforms.

Premiere: Enok, Mathis & Sonny G – Noir

Regular collaborators Enok, Mathis and Sonny G join forces once again for today’s premiere. Blending life instrumentation, jazz influences and a retro aesthetic, this is definitely a bit different, and all the better for it. Imagine a smoke-filled speakeasy crossed with a 90s liquid funk club night and you’ll get a picture of the sound they’re conjuring…or better yet just take a listen! The Noir EP drops April 2nd at digital stores.

Continue reading

Premiere: Nomad – Bad Habits (feat. MC Catfish Bobby)

Fuck About co-founder Nomad lands on Parallel Depth with a new EP and we’re hyped to bring you the premiere of the title track! MC Catfish Bobby brings his vocal stylings to build tension on the breakdowns while Nomad provides a throbbing tech groove…wicked stuff. Look out for this at digital stores from Apr 6th!

Continue reading

Premiere: Andrew Bobson – Disappear

Rolling tech grooves on today’s exclusive as we present a new cut from Andrew Bobson! Taken from the very first release on Polish label Breaky Vibes, this one is all about deep sub, crisp drums and infectious hooks…watch out for the release dropping April 2nd at digital stores.

Continue reading

Premiere: Painted Skies – No Return

Differential are back in our premiere spotlight with a shimmering new liquid roller from Mexico native Painted Skies! Subtle melodies, rolling breaks and understated synth work make for a warm, beautiful ride…look out for this one coming on the Nucleus EP from Mar 26th.

Continue reading

DNB Dojo Podcast #53 – Mar 2021

Spring rolls around and Hex is back on the decks with the usual monthly selection, this time featuring new music from Monika & Akuratyde, Evolved, Kray, Subp Yao, Krypta, Break and many more!

As always you can check out the podcast via Soundcloud below or head to Youtube or iTunes to stream. You can also grab a download from Google Drive.

Continue reading

Premiere: Tyler Frost – Oblivion

We’re suckers for intricate drum programming here at Dojo HQ and that’s exactly what we’ve got for you on today’s premiere! Tyler Frost joins Context Audio for the third volume of their Per Ardua series and he’s going deep, turning up the atmosphere and chopping up the breakbeats. Hit up the Context Audio bandcamp to grab this right now!

Continue reading

Premiere: Senpai – Wrong ID

Citate Forms return with more gully minimal darkness on today’s premiere; Senpai on the buttons with detailed percussion and an infectious hook. Look out for this one coming soon at digital stores…

Continue reading

Loomis – Blurred Horizon EP [Modern Conveniences]

If this is the first time you’re coming across Loomis (or indeed Modern Conveniences) then we urge you to stop what you’re doing and seek out some listening; both artist and label have been forging a creative path along the outer boundaries of Drum & Bass and have released some of the most exciting music we’ve heard over the last 12 months.

The latest from both parties comes in the form of the Blurred Horizon EP, and from the very start the vibes feel epic, but not in that “hands in the air” way associated with main-room dancefloor D&B; the sound here is of a more cinematic scope, majestic synth swells, reverb drenched drums and a subtle, muted euphoria in the melodies. Imagine the soundtrack to something like Drive filtered through the prism of autonomic electronica and you’re somewhere close.

Enthralling, uplifting and enveloping, the four tracks on show here (plus a delicious remix from label boss Akuratyde) showcase the talents of a composer and producer we can’t wait to hear more from. Check out the EP below and watch out for the release coming March 19th via digital stores.

Premiere: Digital Native – Soon I Promise

Goldfat deliver the goods once again for today’s exclusive as the label celebrate their 25th release! Taken from Full Fat 01, a compilation album brimming with soulful cuts, Digital Native delivers a characteristically smooth roller full of crisp drums, subtle piano melodies and warm bass vibrations. Check it out and be sure to pre-order the album ahead of the March 19th release!

Continue reading