Goreteks – Secrets EP [Free Love Digi]

If you like your D&B grimey and militant, pay close attention! Goreteks, another of Denver’s rising crop of D&B production outfits, bring their wares to Quentin Hiatus’s Free Love Digi imprint and the EP is deadly from start to finish.

No Mercy kicks things off with a stomping halftime beat full of hard snares and cheeky drum fills, while the filtered bass roams in and out of the mix in an entirely threatening fashion. Silence is Golden ups the ante, showering down kicks and snares amongst the sea of dubbed out echoes and distorted bass. This one recalls some of SPKTRM’s best material, and it sounds like the soundtrack to a distopian warzone, brutal business.

Secrets continues the menacing vibe; shades of Amit can be heard here, but with extra grit and angst. The percussion fills on this one really make the track, and the use of space makes the composition all the more powerful. Last but not least, Louder dials back the aggression a little for a tribal, echoing exploration with plenty of dubby twists and turns and a general air of simmering danger.

It’s been some time since producers I’ve never heard have impressed me this much on a first listen. Check out the clips below and go pick this one up now!

RoyGreen & Protone – Warman [Demand Records]

RoyGreen & Protone touch down on Demand Records with a new EP showcasing varied sounds within the 170BPM spectrum. Lead track Warman blends together ragga vocals and a tough half-time drum rhythm for something a bit tougher than the duos usual stylings; this one is sure to get a few rewinds in the dance.

Homeground proves to be a nice little roller straddling the territory between tech and liquid; melodic samples sit side by side with a warm, crunchy bassline providing a nice contrast. Last but not least Navarro ticks all the warm liquid boxes to close out the EP with a soulful jam. This one’s out today – hit up the Demand Store to grab a copy on vinyl or digital.

Cirrus – Dark Skies EP [Alchemic Breaks]

Alchemic Breaks cement their reputation for quality, forward thinking beats with a fresh new EP from Terra Null Recordings boss Cirrus. The Dark Skies EP lives up to its name, with all four tracks bringing ominous, foreboding vibes with dark textures and plenty of atmosphere.

All four tracks are well worth a listen, from the punchy drums of of Dark Skies through the skittering glitches and rich, throbbing bass of Lost In The Desert. The Hannibal-sampling Ugly Variables proves the standout track, with it’s mix of perfectly programmed drums and spooky vocal clips, leaving Wind Like This to close the EP with something slightly more melodic.

Cirrus and Alchemic Breaks and definitely both on our “to watch” list for this year on the strength of this release! Check out the clips below and grab the release from your favourite digital store from Mar 16th.

Cirrus – Drone Protocol / I Know You [Terabyte Records]


Cirrus steps up to drop the latest beats for Terabyte Records, and as we’ve come to expect from both parties the results are deep, dark and minimal. A side Drone Protocol drives forward with an ominous selection of bass and atmospherics set to a plodding half-time lilt, while Know You opts for a slightly glitchier aesthetic with skittering percussion filling out the kick/snare rhythm.

Check out the clips below and look for this one at all good digital stores from March 9th.

Clima & Red Army – Utopic EP [Turbine Music]

The latest from Dust Audio sub label Turbine Music comes from Clima & Red Army, who bring a selection of collabs and solo tunes to the label on a deep, dark tip. Highlights come on the ominous half-time rhythms and crunchy percussion of Red Army’s Bones Brigade and dubbed out collab Dread of a Ninja…some serious bassweight on show here! Check out the clips below and look for this one at all good digital outlets now!

Conduct – Vanguard [Diffrent Music]

Diffrent continue to expand their “Giraffestep” sub-imprint with a fresh new EP from Conduct, who follows up recent releases for Blu Mar Ten Music and Lifestyle with a militant selection of half-step badness for Dexta’s esteemed collective.

Vanguard opens the EP with a sludgy, stomping drum rhythm and grimey bass under layers and layers of ominous atmospherics. Residuum meanwhile proves an abstract, almost beatless study in reverb and ambience, echoing almost serenely around the stereo mix. Last but by no means least, Confrontation clatters around with steely drums, robotic FX and plenty of attitude. Danger! Check out the clips below and grab this from the Diffrent Bandcamp right now, with full release following at all good digital stores from Feb 23rd.

[bandcamp width=100% height=241 album=3712944004 size=large bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 artwork=none]

Fuj – Talus Nights / Aphotic Zone [AutomAte Deep]

AutomAte Deep keep things dark and moody as Fuj returns to the label with two fresh new tracks. Similar in style to his previous Terror Firmer single, Talus Nights and Aphotic Zone both feature ominous pads, throbbing bass and detailed percussion. Halfstep heads will love these! Check the clips below and grab a copy from your favourite store right now!

SND – Annihilation EP [Lifestyle Recordings]

The latest from the Lifestyle camp sees SND return to the label with 5 tracks of crisp, detailed D&B. Annihiliation provides the EP’s most conventional slice of D&B with a nice chunky stepper, while the rest of the EP explores moody half-step territory. One for the heads! Check out the clips below and head to Digital Tunes to grab a copy now.

Noon – Noonshine EP [Breaks Per Minute]


Breaks Per Minute present their latest release from Noon, the newest project of Croatian producer Filip Motovunski. The EP shows off his talents with a variety of styles of D&B, opening up with the grimey tech vibes of Done, rolling through the cheery bounce of Noonshine and taking in the more experimental flavours of dub-infused halftime numbers Rolling Joints and Badness. Plenty to enjoy here! Check out the clips below and look for this at digital stores from December 8th.

None Decay – Choke (Interline Remix) [None Decay Music]


None Decay Music returns with a deadly new single welcoming Interline and Defucto to the label family. Interline gives None Decay’s Choke the remix treatment, keeping the half-step rhythms but switching things up with extra percussion and atmospherics. Over on the flip Defucto serves up an old school tearer with big nasty bass and a simple but effective break detailed with extra cymbals. Tasty stuff! Check out the clips below and grab this one from your favourite digital outlet now!