Premiere: Fearful – Through The Mist

Fearful’s debut LP for Diffrent Music is almost upon us so naturally we had to snatch up an exclusive! Through The Mist goes in deep on an atmospheric tech rumbler powered along by some of the most detailed percussion we’ve heard from Fearful yet…taking a few leaves from the Amoss playbook while retaining his own unique take on the D&B sound, this is a cracking track, and the rest of the album is equally engaging. Look out for the Interference LP dropping tomorrow on vinyl, CD and digital…

Continue reading

Premiere: Fearful & Deficit – State of Decay

Flexout’s latest sees Fearful teaming up with a host of his buddies in the scene for a five-collab extravaganza on the appropriately titled Collective Conscience EP. being big fans of artist and label alike we jumped at the chance of a premiere, so we’re extremely pleased to present the exclusive on Deficit collab State of Decay. Angular riddims, punchy drums and squelching basslines a plenty on this one as the boys put the “technical” back into techstep; vibes. Check it out and watch out for the release dropping everywhere from Mar 28th!

Continue reading

Cirrus – Remixes Vol. 2 [Terra Null]

Given that all three artists involved in the latest release for Terra Null have contributed mixes to the Dojo Mix Series, it probably comes as no surprise that the release proved to be right up our street!

Label boss Cirrus turns in two tracks for the remix treatment; on the A side Fearful dishes up a menacing new mix of Diacria; throbbing bass, rapid fire staccato percussion and tons of atmosphere on this one.

Not to be outdone, Fuj keeps things gritty and ominous on the flip with a creeping remix of Angel. The progression on this one is fantastic, particularly the eerie synth melody that ramps up in the second half of the tune. Wicked stuff; check out the clips below and hit up the Terra Null Bandcamp to grab this right now.

Fearful – Premonition Remix Contest

Fearful has been a busy man of late! Between releases for Diffrent, AutomAte and a fantastic mix for DNB Dojo, Chris has also found time to craft a fresh bit of techno in the form of self released track Premonition. The producers in the Dojo readership should be interested to hear that he’s running a remix contest around the track, with first place netting a white 12″ DIFF025 vinyl and runners up treated to early copies of Fearful releases on digital.

You can check out the original track below in all it’s brooding glory; head over to Soundcloud to grab the stems and get your remix in to the Soundcloud group by September 21st 2015 to be in with a chance of winning.


DNB Dojo Mix Series 16: Fearful


We’ve kept an eye on Fearful ever since his release for AutomAte Tech in 2012 and have had the pleasure of watching his style and skills develop nicely, as amply evidenced on the Mechanism EP released by Diffrent earlier this year.

Pushing a deep, dark and unique style, we felt it was high time Fearful got involved in the Dojo Mix Series, and Chris has obliged with an hour of techy, underground selections. Fresh dubs, VIPs and heavyweight business from the likes of Amoss, Skeptical, Kush T, Perverse and many more; this one is definitely one for the heads.

As usual you can check out the mix via Soundcloud below or head to Mixcloud, or iTunes to stream. You can also grab a download from Dropbox.

Fearful – Shock
Lakeway – Guns For Hire
Amoss & Fearful – Carcosa
M:Pathy & Kush T – Bleepers
Fearful – Mechanism
Transparent – Hustler
M-soul, S27 & Mombosh – As I’m Drifting
Conscience – U Make Me Feel
SVB – The Solution
Perverse – Petrichor
Skeptical – Imperial
Fearful – Tongues VIP
Co.Lateral – Coast Killers
Kush T – Delirious
Kasra & Enei – Arcana
Hyroglifics – Astraya
Kasra & Enei – Inside The Box
Lockjaw – Idol (Euph Remix)
M-Set – All Consuming Fear (Amoss Remix)
Shiver – Fragmented
Lynx & Kemo Feat. Alix Perez – Dangerous
Transparent – Patriot
Rakoon – Guard

Fearful – Mechanism EP [Diffrent Music]

Fearful returns to Diffrent Music with a great new EP exploring dark and experimental rhythms. Since the last outing on Diffrent nearly two years ago Fearful has moved from a duo to a solo project, but remaining member Chris’s output hasn’t lost any of its edge.

All four tracks carry a distinctly brooding vibe, with eerie pads, grimey bass and a general air of tension coming together to create soundscapes steeped in darkness and suspense. The whole EP is strong, but the hard edged percussion and tempo bending finale of The Lurker edge it out as the Dojo favourite (closely followed by haunting Amoss collab Carcosa).

Check out the previews below and hit up the Diffrent Bandcamp for a copy right now.

[bandcamp width=100% height=274 album=127571778 size=large bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 artwork=none]

Fearful – XIII [AutomAte]

AutomAte round off their year with a fresh release from one of the label’s first artists, Fearful. Crisp, precise beats and growling basslines are the order of the day on this one, keeping things deep and dark. The EP also features remixes from Mtwn and Raiden; the former refixes the track into a skittering percussive workout with all the menace of the original but a distinctly different vibe, while the Offkey boss lends his signature tribal drum sounds to turn in a brooding mix for my pick of the three.

Check out the clips below and look for this at all good digital stores from December 1st.

Fearful – Tongues / Nostromo [Diffrent]

I first heard Fearful‘s material via their excellent release for Automate Tech last year and have been keeping an eye on them ever since, and listening to their productions evolve continues to be a treat! Their latest material for Diffrent sees them exploring deep, dark, leftfield territory with beats that deliberately eschew the traditional drum & bass structure while retaining the same tone and sonic pallet.

Tongues hits down with huge sub bass and heavy impact percussion, combined with truly cinematic soundscape work to create a tune which sounds more like the soundtrack to a robotic cult meeting than a piece of dance music. Nostromo keeps things weird and wonderful with a skittering, angular beat and more clever atmospherics.

To celebrate the release the boys have also put together a tidy 30 min mix showcasing the new tracks alongside other deep business from Diffrent, Automate and Proximity along with a bunch of new dubs. Check it out below and grab the release from your favourite digital outlet.